About Us > Who We Are

Who We Are

The Blair County Conservation District was formed in response to a local landowner generated petition to the Blair County Board of Commissioners, which was acted upon in January of 1966. Since that time, the district has continuously served the residents of Blair County. The organization chart for the Blair District illustrates the hierarchy and identifies the many main entities, with which ties are made. Under the direction of the State Conservation Commission and in cooperation with both the Department of Agriculture and the Department of Environmental Protection, and others, the Blair County Conservation District is able to offer a wide range of services.

The District is governed in accordance with Act 217 – The Conservation District Law, and is locally led by a board of directors appointed by the County Commissioners. The Commissioners annually solicit nominations for director positions from approved Nominating Organizations.  Blair County has a 7-member board who are appointed to serve 4 year terms.  Four of these members are considered “Farmer Members”, two are considered “Public Members” and one is a representative of the County Governing Body, which is the only member with an annual appointment.

The Conservation District meets monthly, primarily at their office located at 1407 Blair Street, in Hollidaysburg. Generally, meetings are held the third Monday of each month at 7:30 PM, with exception for holidays and winter hours. The annual meeting schedule is advertised in January of each year.  Please call our office for specific meeting dates, locations and times. All meetings are open to the public.

Our Staff



Professional, well-trained and tenured staff supports the Conservation District Board. The Blair District staff has grown from a single part time position in the late 60’s to an existing staff of 9 full time positions and one part time position. Specific staff are hired to accomplish Managerial and Administrative duties; as well as program responsibilities to include but not limited to: Erosion and Sediment Pollution/NPDES Permitting; Agricultural Technical and Financial Assistance; Watershed Restoration; Environmental Education; and a multi-county functioning Agricultural Public Liaison.