Government Information

The Blair County Conservation District by virtue of our creation is a unit of Government.  We are also actively involved in supporting many aspects of our local government offices.  Cooperation leads to the success of many governmental programs across Blair County.

The District works with local municipalities related to their ordinances and our delegation for Erosion and Sediment Pollution Control and Stormwater Management. All or portions of thirteen municipalities in Blair County have increased emphasis on Stormwater Management, Education, Monitoring and Inspection because they are determined by population density to be an urbanized area; therefore falling under the criteria of a Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System  or MS4.

Floodplain Management and Near Stream Activities is another program that Municipalities and the Conservation District share resources.  As of March 2, 2012, new floodplain maps are available for all Blair County Municipalities.  Property owners may use FEMA’s website to view, purchase if desired, or make a “FIRMette”  - a page size copy of their location.

Agricultural Security Areas or ASA’s are established and maintained by individual townships and they are the first step for a property owner to make application for the District administered Agricultural Conservation Easement Purchase Program.

The District also coordinates the Dirt, Gravel, and Low Volume Road program. This program uses Environmentally Senstive (road) Maintenace techniques to limit erosion and run-off pollution from entering Blair County streams. To learn more about these techinques and to apply for grant funds visit our Dirt & Gravel Road page.

Finally, the Conservation District hosts an Ombudsman or Agricultural Public Liaison that can assist municipalities with conflict management, education and ordinance review related to ag operations.